Connect with us


Cricket: Battle for the Asian crown begins in Srilanka: Asia Cup 2010



The race for the Asian cricket champion is set to start in the Northern Sri Lankan city of Dambulla as the top four top teams of the continent take on each other in a battle for supremacy.

This year’s edition is the tenth time the tournament is being staged, the Indians and Sri Lankans have reigned supreme in the competition with both teams winning the title four times each. Pakistan has won the tournament only once when they outplayed Sri Lanka in the final of the 2000 edition staged in Bangladesh.

The Bangladeshis who have featured in all nine editions of the tournament are the favourite whipping boys of the three Asian giants. Once again, they start the tournament as massive underdogs and even a single win for them against any of their three opponents would come as a huge bonus for Shakib-Ul-Hasan’s men.

The opening match is being played between the hosts and reigning champions Sri Lanka and Pakistan. The Sri Lankans won the tournament held in 2008, when Ajantha Mendis tore through the powerful batting line-up of the Indians, claiming six wickets in the final played at the national stadium Karachi.

Meanwhile Pakistan is taking part in the tournament under the leadership of Shahid Afridi who is leading the team for the first time in a fifty over event; he was not that inspiring in the T20 World championship held in the Caribbean, yet the flamboyant all-rounder has the ability to turn on the heat and change the complexion of a game with-in minutes.

The men in green have also rung in the changes for the event by bringing in Shoaib Malik and Shoaib Akhtar in the squad besides including the trio of Umer Amin, Asad Shafiq and Shahzeb Hasan.

The three youngsters have done remarkably well in the limited over competitions held in the country, while Shahzeb Hasan was unlucky to miss out on national selection after an admirable start to his international career in the T20 World Championship held in England in 2009.

Pakistan would once again be relying on their pace battery led by Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir, the spinners in the squad are Saeed Ajmal, Afridi and Shoaib Malik.

On the other hand, the hosts are fresh after securing a win in the tri-series held in Zimbabwe where the third participant was India.

Led by Kumar Snagakkara, the hosts will start the tournament as favourites for the event and would be relying on their batsmen, besides the all-round talent of their squad.

The pace cum spin attack can cause real problems for the opposition on the Dambulla track.

Nuwan Kulasekra, Farveez Mahroof, Lasith Malinga and Angelo Matthews would be spearheading the pace attack, while the spin department will be manned by the veteran Muttiah Muralitheran along with Rangana Herath and Suraj Randiv.

One major cause for concern for the batsmen is the Dambulla track where run making is a tough proposition, given the slowness of the track.

The ball also jags around at the start of the innings, hence the batsmen cannot take the conditions for granted and plant their front foot forward and smash the ball around.

The highest total at the ground is 289 which is considerably lesser than the scores in most of the other grounds around the sub continent.

The conditions are expected to get tougher under artificial lights, at least at the start of the innings, yet the equation is balanced out by the possibility of dew falling on the ground in the second innings which can make gripping the ball tough for the bowlers.

All seven matches of the tournament will be played at Dambulla. The tournament ends on the 24th of June when the final between the top two teams in the standings takes place after the completion of all the league matches.

The action is set to start tomorrow, yet what remains to be seen is if the ongoing football craze takes a back seat and the Asian cup takes over as the sport to watch for the next ten days.
Jago News

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


INDIA World Champions 2011 as ICC Wished




India the Next World Champion of Cricket

Mumbai: Final of World Cup 2011 starts dramatically with twice a time toss , on both tossing Sri-Lanka won. Jayawardane who never scored solid in whole world cup as in the finals and ends up Sri-Lankan innings with more than  100 not out . Sri Lanka gives target of 275 in 50 overs to India.

India loosing first wicket on the 2nd ball of their innings and soon after they lost wicket of Sachin Tendulker . Virat and Gautham gives a solid recovery to India and Dhoni ends with the six . Glory comes to India .

Without any doubt India was not capable to win the World Cup of 2011 , but they won due to amazing captaincy of MS Dhoni.

MS Dhoni declared to be the man of the match. Yuvraj Singh declared man of the series and ICC President passed Trophy to Indian captain.

Continue Reading


IPL Will Win This World Cup





Cricket World Cup Final 2011

World Cup 2007 begins and in the very first round India drops from the World Cup . ICC bears the loss of advertisement and assures this that India will be given more favors in future World Cups . Today 2nd April 2011 India is in finals of World Cup 2011 and ICC so called International Cricket Council is more like Indian Cricket Council.

Money Talks!

Yes, this is the bitter truth which we have to realize more money is coming from India to ICC and ICC don’t want to disappoint Indians for this . Regardless of caring the sentiments of other nations fighting hard for playing entertaining cricket.

In a TV show on ARY News , when Basit Ali (Former Test Player Pakistan) was asked who will win this Final encounter he said “IPL”. He also hinted this is a signal for wise that IPL will take this cup. Sri Lankans might be given huge amounts so they could also come to IPL after this world cup. , otherwise stage is banned for Sri Lankans.

This is the history of sports since 50 years , many of the closed notches had been settled in wealth and need. As , Brazil comes to settle in 1998 Football World Cup for France  might this could be another France.

Hope for the fair game.

Continue Reading


Australia were hoping India in the Finals




Pakistan were the last team to overcome Australia at a World Cup and brought Ricky Ponting’s 34-match unbeaten run to an end with a four-wicket victory in Colombo to secure top spot in Group A. An impressive display in the field laid the foundations as the reigning champions were bundled out for 176 on a difficult surface, their lowest total in a World Cup since 1992, and despite a mighty effort from Brett Lee they were guided home by Umar Akmal and Abdul Razzaq.

However , Aussies are always to be a great team to comeback. And , this come back will might effect India in quarter finals.



“The adrenaline will certainly be flowing and playing in front of their home crowd in Ahmedabad will be exciting and a challenge for us,” Nielsen Australian Coach said. “We’ve got no fear now; we know we’re in the knockout stage.


“It’s exciting … a mini-grand final in itself. If you came here and thought, ‘What would be the best result? It would be great to make the final against India’. Well, we’ve got our final against India in the next few days. I’m sure if we’re on our game, they won’t necessarily be looking forward to playing against us. That’s something in our favour.”


Continue Reading


Copyright © 2021 Jagonews.